About the Awards
2019 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize winner Fiona Kidman, with publisher at Penguin Random House, Harriet Allan and Donor and Community Engagement Manager at Acorn Foundation, Margot McCool (Photo by Marcel Trompe)

About the Awards

Established in 1968, in their current format the annual Ockham New Zealand Book Awards offer five principal prizes: the Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction, the Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry, the Illustrated Non-Fiction Award, the General Non-Fiction Award and Te Mūrau o te Tuhi Māori Language Award for books written entirely in te reo Māori, awarded at the discretion of a specially appointed judge. There are also four Best First Book awards, supported by MitoQ.

A longlist of up to 40 titles is announced in late January, and a shortlist is released in early March. The awards ceremony is held as part of the Auckland Writers Festival in May each year.

Winners of the Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction receive a minimum of $50,000. Winners of the other principal category awards each receive $10,000, and each of the winners of the four MitoQ Best First Book awards, $2,500.

Panels of three judges each are selected to judge each of the subject categories.

Read more