About the Awards
Winner of the 2016 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize Stephen Daisley, pictured with Acorn Foundation general manager Nicky Wilkins.

About the Awards

These annual awards offer four principal prizes: the Poetry Award, the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize, the Illustrated Non-Fiction Award and the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction. There are also four Best First Book awards, and a Māori language award for books written entirely in te reo Māori, awarded at the judges’ discretion.

A longlist of up to 40 titles is announced in November of the preceding year, and a shortlist is released in March. The awards event is held in May each year.

Winners of the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize win $50,000. Winners of the other three principal category awards each receive $10,000, the Māori language award $10,000, and each of the winners of the four Best First Book awards, $2,500.

Panels of three judges each are selected to judge each of the categories.

Read more