About the Awards
2017 Margaret Mahy Book of the Year winner David Elliot (second from right) with Convening Judge Pam Jones (right), Victor Billot (Otago University Press) and the Hon. Maggie Barry. (Photo by Lindsey Keats)

About the Awards

These awards are a unique celebration of the contribution New Zealand’s children’s authors and illustrators make to building national identity and cultural heritage.

Awards in the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are made in six categories: Young Adult Fiction (the Copyright Licensing NZ Award), Junior Fiction (the Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award), Non-Fiction (the Elsie Locke Award), Picture Book, Illustration (the Russell Clark Award), and the Wright Family FoundationTe Kura Pounamu Award (for books entirely written in te reo Māori).

Up to five finalists are selected for each category, and from these a category winner is selected. All awards carry prize money of $7,500. In addition, the judges will award a best first book prize of $2,000 to a previously unpublished author or illustrator. The overall prize, the Margaret Mahy Book of the Year award, carries a prize of $7,500.

The awards are judged by a panel of five.Te Kura Pounamu is judged by a separate panel of judges.

At the same time, a major nationwide Reading Challenge, sponsored by HELL Pizza, encourages children to read.

A shortlist is announced in June each year, and the awards event is held in August of the same year.

Read more