Past Winners

Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards

Season of the Jew by Maurice Shadbolt (Hodder & Stoughton, 1986)
Head and Shoulders by Virginia Myers (Penguin, 1986)
Ngā Mōrehu: The Survivors by Judith Binney and Gillian Chaplin (Oxford University Press, 1986)

New Zealand Book Awards

Poetry (first equal)
The Loop in the Lone Kauri Road: Poems, 1983–1985 by Allen Curnow (Auckland University Press & Oxford University Press, 1986)
Poetry (first equal)
Jump by Elizabeth Nannestad (Auckland University Press, 1986)
Potiki by Patricia Grace (Penguin, 1986)
Head and Shoulders by Virginia Myers (Penguin, 1986)
Book Production
The correct display for this text is Focus on New Zealand edited by Brian Brake, designed by Donna Hoyle (Collins, 1986)